Where did the weekend go?

Why does Monday always take me by surprise?  I know it’s on its way from the minute I finish work on Friday, to the moment I drop off to sleep on Sunday night.  But still, the alarm on Monday morning is shocking.  Truly frightening. 

That said, as Mondays go this isn’t a bad one.  I’m working at home for a start.  The software issues I had on Friday have been resolved so I can get on with my list of things to do.  There was a whole Toblerone in the drawer, which I’d forgotten about.  In fact, there were two, so I don’t even have to save any for A or suffer the guilt attack if I eat more than my share.  Not that I’ve eaten it all, you understand, it’s just the luxury of knowing that it’s there, and it’s all mine. 

So, what’s coming up this week?

  • 1:1 with the boss-man first thing Tuesday morning.  In my office, at least I don’t have to travel;
  • Phone calls to the hospital to resolve appointment issues for my Mum, who is on holiday;
  • Veg box and fruit box as always 🙂 – I’m down to two apples so I’m looking forward to it;
  • Packing for our cruise!

I can’t quite get my head around the idea that we’re actually going on a big boat…on SATURDAY!  It’s exciting and scary and really, really soon.  We’ve arranged a bunny-and-house-sitter, and planned to deliver the cockatiel to A’s Mum.  We’ve dragged the wheelie suitcases down from the attic.  Yesterday we went through the clothes we are planning to take and I ironed those that needed it .  I still have to contact my big bro and arrange to meet up with him, as he lives in Southampton, where the boat starts from and ends up.  We could see him for lunch, then he can help us get our baggage to the docks 😉 . 

Another reason for today being a good one, as Mondays go – I heard from my friend from Uni that she had a baby boy last week.  Hoorah!  Congratulations J&G!  I must dig out one of the pretty things I’ve knitted for occasions like this, post it to her.  Sadly, they are living oop north at the moment, and very soon moving to New York for a year, so I doubt if I’ll get chance to meet Baby any time soon. 

Anyway, enough babble, back to work.

One Response to “Where did the weekend go?”

  1. Ian Says:

    I understand your problem with weekends. Much less of a problem for me now that I have retired as we dont get wekends , holidays or bank holidays anymore.

Leave a Reply

