Endless Medical Appointments

I’m now well into the many appointments I’ve got booked…today I had the blood test for coeliac disease, as well as a few dozen other things.  The nurse took at least 6 little bottles of blood and the Dr-man had ticked just about every box available on the form.  Hopefully something will come back with a result, preferably something treatable!  Ideally I’d like something that can be cured, but failing that I’ll be quite happy with manageable.  How defeatist is that?!

This afternoon I’m off to see the physio lady at the pain clinic again, to return the tens machine they loaned me.  It was good, but I haven’t used it since I bought my own, and the month’s loan is up.  Hopefully I won’t need any more appointments there. 

Tomorrow I have an asthma check-up with the nurse at the surgery.  Just a routine appointment to monitor the asthma I forget I have! 

Next week I just have one appointment with the Dr-man, so far.  I have to contact my private medical cover people before that, to see whether they’ll cover me for tests and consultant referrals, given that the consensus us that this probably isn’t endometriosis and therefore isn’t a pre-existing condition.  Fingers crossed – I’d really like the private cover to kick in.  I’m kind of putting off the phone call at the moment, cos I don’t want to be told ‘no’. 

I’m struggling with the pain again at the moment.  For every good day I get 3 or 4 bad ones.  I hardly slept last night, between the pain and the worry.  Someone well meaning sent me a chain e-mail, one of those that is trying to raise awareness of a particular illness.  This one was about ovarian cancer.  And I have every symptom.  I know that logically I have all the symptoms for a lot of illnesses, I know it and yet occasionally something catches my attention and even if I don’t realise it at the time it plays on my mind when I get into bed. 

I’ve got symptoms for so  many things I’ve stopped researching too much or the worry will kill me!  Ha!

In the meantime, life (and knitting) goes on.  It’s too damn short to spend much time fretting about illness, so here’s a bit about what I’ve been up to in the last week…

A had a few days off after his tooth extraction last week, so I took Friday and Monday as well.  We had a lazy day on Friday, stayed in bed far too late, wandered along to a supermarket to get some shopping, met a few friends for a drink in the evening.  We had a similar day on Sunday and not much more exciting on Monday, except we did go out for a lovely long walk. 

On Saturday though, we got up at a reasonable time and caught a train to Bristol for the day.  It was a really good day out, different to what we usually get up to.  I even…drum roll please…got to visit Get Knitted in real life (instead of online).  Man I love that shop!  Their online shop is excellent, good range, brilliant service, reasonable prices, but that’s nothing compared to the open, friendly welcoming-ness of the actual shop.  It was a good 45 minute walk from the station, but well worth it.  Even A found it interesting to look around!  Oh, and I kind of bought some stuff…but the photos will have to wait until I’m on my own laptop due to restrictions on the work one. 

We also looked around some of the usual high street shops, buying a cardigan and some t-shirts for A and a new coat for me, and had lunch in KFC.  There was even time to explore the market, and we probably should have eaten at one of the fabulous, unusual food places there.  Only we were kind of short of money by then. 

All in all, it was a nice change and well worth the effort. 

On the knitting front, I’ve finished my lovely purple bedsocks, and I’m now making myself a scarf and my Mum some socks.  I got new yarn for both when we were at Get Knitted on Saturday, some purple Malabrigo laceweight for the scarf and some Lorna’s Laces sock wool in a colour called Flamingo Stripe for Mum’s socks.  The Lorna’s Laces stuff is a special pink stripey yarn which includes a donation to a cancer research charity. 

I also bought two Knitpicks circular needles to try socks on two circulars.  So far, it’s going really well, and even though I still love my DPN’s it’s good to have another method up my sleeve.  Magic loop next! 

Anyway, because of all the appointments I gave knitting group a miss today, so I’d better not spend any longer here.  Back to work!

Leave a Reply

