What do you mean, I missed a week?

Okay, so I did miss last Saturday.  Can’t even remember why.  Probably laziness. 

What has been going on in the last two weeks?  Hmmm, not a great deal that I can think of. 

Got the last blood test result back, all normal.  Still waiting for hospital appointments. 

Mum got confirmation that the pain and skin problems which so closely resemble the cancer she had a year ago are ‘post-radiotherapy changes in the skin’.  Which is interesting, 20 years after the radiotherapy! 

A has a slight change of role at work, he has been given specific responsibilities, instead of general ones.  It’s probably a good thing as he will be adding skills to his repertoire. 

I’ve been struggling to work very successfully, only been in to the office twice this week, and couldn’t work at all on Thursday.  I’ve got to get my act together, the boss-man is very understanding, but I can’t rely on him being my boss for much longer.  Change is coming. 

I’ve been reading a lot in the last two weeks…perhaps that’s why I didn’t get around to posting last week.  I’ve just re-read all of Jane Austen’s novels for the umpty-ninth time.  I love Pride and Prejudice, it;s one of my favourite books ever, and the rest of them are really good too.  I was given P&P by a friend of my Mum’s, for my 11th or 12th birthday. I read it then, and enjoyed it, but didn’t really understand it very well.  I have re=read it many times since and enjoyed it as much or more every time.  This time through I found it funnier than ever before, picking up on the clever phrases better. 

I think I’m going to re-read Wuthering Heights next, because I’ve never really understood it when I’ve read it before and I keep re-reading it in the hope that it starts to make sense.  We’ll see. 

In knitting news, I’ve restarted my Mum’s think pink socks…again…this time in a much bigger size.  I got to the toe of the first one and realised that it just wasn’t big enough, especially if I took into account the way her arthritic fingers struggle with things like socks.  She won’t be able to put on anything tight, they have to be loose.  It turns out she has been wearing her partner’s oversized men’s socks, so I’m going for a massive size, and using a bigger needle size to make the stitching looser. 

The picture is of the previous version, now frogged, but the pattern will be the same.

I finished my pretty purple lacy scarf, and have started making gloves from the leftover Malabrigo lace yarn.  Of course, when I say leftover, I mean 2 and a bit skeins!  I’ve finished the first glove, made holding two strands of the laceweight together, and realised when I put it on that I’ve never owned gloves that fit properly before!  Being able to adjust them to exactly the size and shape of my hand and fingers makes them fit so well. 

It’s impossible to get across the softness of this scarf in a photo, but it really feels luxurious.  It was 34 repeats long in the end so it took 17 days to knit, plus a couple to block. 

So, on that note I’m going to get back to my sock and/or glove knitting, plus checking out what time the snooker starts today.  It’s semi-final day of the Welsh Open…one of my favourites went out yesterday, but the other got through.  Yay!

Leave a Reply

