No-photo Saturday

This week I have no photosto show.  I haven’t finished any knitting, haven’t bought anything new, haven’t even really done anything. 

So why am I writing?  Ah, you know, habit. 

I have been knitting of course.  I’ve got just 1.5 fingers to do to finish my pretty purple gloves.  I would have got there last night if I hadn’t had to stop and wind the 3rd skein of laceweight…which…took…forever!  Perhaps at some point I should invest in a ball winder. 

I haven’t started on my Mum’s second pink sock yet, as I want to finish the gloves first. 

Then I thought I’d make a hat. 

Only I should make a wedding sampler for my friend’s daughter first.  But I want to make a hat.  And some more socks. 

Actually it might be a good idea to take a break from the knitting anyway.  The wedding sampler shouldn’t take more than a couple of weeks, even with designing it myself, as Ali is looking for something small, probably about A5 size.  Then I can return to knitting full of new enthusiasm and fresh ideas.  Cos that’s what I need, right?  New ideas?  More enthusiasm?  Cos there are enough hours in the day to knit everything I want as it is. 

Anyway, I promised to make the wedding sampler, and if I just get on with it, it will be done the quicker.  I might even re-discover my cross-stitch mojo. 

In other news, our friends from New Zealand turned up out of the blue last weekend.  Jenny is bridesmaid at her friend’s wedding today, and was planning to come over on her own.  Tim managed to tag along in the end, bringing with them the good news that they are having a baby! 

In book news, I finished the James Bond book by Sebastian Faulks, which I started a few days ago.  I can’t say I really enjoyed it, and there were definitely times where I was looking forward to the end.  I think I need to read one of the original Bond books to see how different it really is.  It might be that Faulks has captured the style exactly, and I just wouldn’t have enjoyed the originals either.  I’ll reserve judgement for now. 

This morning I have re-read Red Dog by Louis de Bernieres.  It’s a little, short book, but so lovely.  It made me cry, as it did when I first read it 6 years ago (almost to the day).  I think I might re-read some other de Bernieres books now, starting with The War of Don Emmanuel’s Nether Parts. 

That’s enough for today, I want to get back to those gloves.

2 Responses to “No-photo Saturday”

  1. Judith Says:

    My daughter reviewed the new Louis de Bernieres book in the Observer last week!

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2009/feb/22/partisans-daughter-louis-bernieres-fiction

  2. uncoolhelen Says:

    That’s brilliant! Looks like another good read, I’ll look out for it. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

