Photos because it’s Saturday

This week I have a lot to report, and I’m feeling happy.  Let’s see, starting with…

Knitting news:  I finished my lovely Malabrigo gloves, and they truly are a joy to wear.  Even though the weather has turned a lot warmer, what with it being spring and no longer winter, so I probably won’t wear them until autumn now, but hey, at least I have them. 

 

So pretty, so warm, so going in a drawer for a few months. 

I’ve also finished the second Think Pink sock for my Mum.  I’ll see her on Tuesday, and give her the pair and hopefully even get a photo of her wearing them. 

 

I’m really pleased with them.  These were for the sock knit along on Ravelry, for February.  I finished them a few days late, but posted them anyway.  I think I’ll be giving the March KAL a miss, as the theme is lace and I have too many other things to do to start more lace socks at the moment.  I might join in late if I get time later in the month. 

I know I really shouldn’t have started anything new knitting-wise, but I couldn’t resist casting on for my Malabrigo hat, to match the scarf and gloves. 

I’m using the magic loop technique for the first time, and finding it quite straight forward so far.  This was why I chose the longest length of circular needles I could get, when I ordered all those Knitpicks needles, because I had read that for magic loop it was easier using long cables, and I figured that for 2 circs it wouldn’t be a problem having the extra length.  Now I can say I can knit in the round with DPNs, 2 circs and magic loop! 

Finally, and most excitingly (seriously, I’m still dancing in circles in my head), I won the monthly Violet Green yarn raffle in the VG group on Ravelry.  £10 to spend on anything at all from the Violet Green online shop.  I spent most of Wednesday browsing, ordered Weds evening, and received my lovely freebies on Friday morning.  I chose 2 yarns, one of which was Stellar sock yarn:

This is called Minchinhampton and I love the colours – the blue is actually more purple in real life. 

My other choice was a cobweb lace yarn, which is so fine and soft…I think I’ll make a stole from it.

Again, it’s more purple-y than blue, so pretty. 

And, even though I spent a bit over the £10 voucher I won, the lovely Violet Green lady refunded the extra and sent it all as my prize!  Lovely, lovely, lovely. 

On top of the knitting happiness, I took Friday off work, to use up my last day of annual leave.  I’ve also got Thursday and Friday of the coming week off.  I had a lovely lazy morning yesterday, while A was at work, posting on Ravelry, messing on the ‘puter, reading.  Then we went for a really long walk all afternoon, followed by a nap before dinner. 

Today I have to make a start on the cross-stitch I promised to make my friend for her daughter’s wedding.  I sorted out my cross-stitch supplies last night, organising my threads, updating my project book, looking for colours.  Weirdly, even though I have 6 boxes of threads of various makes and types, I don’t have a single on in the right shade of pink!  I’ll have to ponder down to the craft shop at some point, see if I can get something shiny or sparkly, or even just plain cotton in the right colour.  For now, I should get on with the design work anyway.  It has to include something representing Epsom Downs race course, as that is where the wedding is.  Hmmm. 

In reading news, I’ve just finished the 2nd of 3 books by Louis de Bernieres, in the ‘War of Don Emmanuel’s Nether Parts’ series.  I love these books, even more than the first time I read them.  They are so clever and subtle.  Simply written while still being complex stories. 

Now, what else?  Oh yes, I have a variety of hospital appointments.  There’s the gynaecology consultant on Tuesday, which my Mum is taking me to as A has to work.  Then there’s A’s annual kidney checkup on Weds, and I have to see another consultant next week.  The another pain clinic appointment the week after that.  I’m just hoping someone will come up with some answers soon.  In the meantime, the pain clinic methods are working well.  I forget to do the exercises every day, but I am following instructions about stopping before it hurts.  For example when we go out walking, I stop and rest from time to time.  We usually stop for a coffee somewhere before the long walk home from Tesco/Sainsbury’s/wherever.  I’m able to get through without causing too much extra pain, which is progress. 

So, all in all, positives all round.  🙂

Leave a Reply

