Regular service is resumed

I haven’t got any new photos to show this week, as I have finished nothing, bought nothing, done…pretty much nothing.  I do have last week’s pictures though, which I’ll include as appropriate. 

Firstly, the Spanish authorities have still not released my Grandmother’s body.  Hence, no funeral as yet.  My Grandfather, Gavyn, is back at home and determined to stay there.  My Dad said one of my uncle’s was planning on Gavyn moving to his house, but Gavyn is a determined and stubborn man, and has decided to live in his own house by himself.  Good for him! 

A memorial service has been arranged far Sat 28th March, so I guess I won’t be around to write next Sat morning. 

It’s still very sad, but seems very distant at the moment. 

In health news, I’ve been for 2 hospital appointments in the last 2 weeks.  Firstly I saw the gynae consultant…again, not the man himself, but one of his team.  This man was very helpful, very patient, explained everything I wanted to know including answering a couple of questions no-one had managed to answer until then.  He has booked me in for a laparoscopy again, hoping that will help. 

This week I went to see consultant at the gastro clinic.  He asked lots of questions, examined me, and decided this is probably a gynae thing.  Which is what I expected to hear.  I may have a slight tendency to Irritable Bowel Syndrome, but he doesn’t think it worth investigating until he has the results of the laparoscopy.  He did give me some new painkillers to try, so fingers crossed I can start to reduce the dose of co-codamol I am taking at the moment. 

On to happier things, I have been knitting plenty, what with all the hospital waiting room time.  I have finished my Malabrigo hat, apart from casting off and blocking it.  The pattern instructions don’t give a suggested cast-off, and my first attempt was far too inflexible, so I’m looking out for a really stretchy one.  I’m sure the answer will be on Ravelry.  The photo below is obviously not of the almost-finished hat, but I’m too lazy to take a more up-to-date one now…

I started a pair of bedsocks – 2 at a time on magic loop – for myself, which I haven’t really made much progress on as yet.  They’ll have my full attention though, as soon as I’ve finished the hat. 

Apart from knitting, I have also been cross-stitching.  I designed, started and finished the cross-stitch picture for my friend to give to her daughter as a wedding present.  I’m pleased with the finished result, and Ali seems really happy with it too.  She is planning to get it framed professionally, probably in a box frame with shiny confetti in it. 

This weekend my friend T from work is off to Newcastle, and has promised to track down a yarn shop and bring me back something pretty.  It’s really sweet of her to even think of it, and I’m looking forward to seeing what goodies she finds. 

I think that’s it for now.  Catch ya later.

One Response to “Regular service is resumed”

  1. Judith Says:

    A good stretchy lace cast off is one I use all the time: knit the first stitch and second stitch as normal (ie as they present knit or purl) then slip the 2 stitches back onto the tip of the left hand needle and k the 2 sts tog through the back of the loops, it is a sort of slip slip knit a bit like SSK. You slip the sts then poke the RH needle from R Front to L back through to the back and knit the 2 sts tog.
    You are left with1 st on the R H needle so you knit another stitch, then slip both back to the LH needle, slip slip and knit the 2 together again. Just carry on like this and it forms a stretchy chain edge that blocks well or gives well.
    No idea what it is called; I found it in a lace book or online somewhere and I like using it.
    I can show you on Wednesday easier than writing it up as I expect you are very confused.

Leave a Reply

