Nightmares

I agreed with the doctor-man yesterday that I can stop taking one of the painkillers I’ve been on for the last couple of months.  I’m sleeping 10+ hours per night, napping in the afternoon and still feeling too tired to function all day.  I really shouldn’t be driving, not at all. 

Part of the problem is the nightmares.  All night, every night.  I wake up repeatedly and find it hard to go back to sleep.  Last night I wasn’t allowed a sandwich for lunch until I’d eaten a whole loaf of dry bread.  By which time I really didn’t want a sandwich anyway.  I then wasn’t allowed dinner until I’d eaten a pair of trousers and two pairs of socks!  It sounds silly now, but at the time it was just distressing. 

Then, when I got back to sleep, I was the Queen of somewhere or other, but only because I was married to the King.  Sounds good?  At the point that I started dreaming it, the King had just died and a rioting mob were looking for me.  Not so good.

The night before last, I was chased by, then fighting with the Terminator.  Both the scary Arnie one and the even more scary molten metal one.  I slashed the metal one’s throat with a knife, twice, but he just laughed at me and healed over.  The Arnie one just stood there grinning, neither attacking nor defending me.  I was shaking and sweating when I woke up from that one and it took a very long time to get back to sleep! 

I don’t even remember a lot of the nightmares, but they’re very vivid at the time.  I read once that to remember dreams, you should write them down immediately, even if it is the middle of the night. 

To be honest…I don’t want to remember these ones! 

So anyway, I’ve stopped taking the amitriptyline and hopefully things will start to improve.  I still had to sleep for an hour this afternoon, but I don’t remember any dreams at all.  Seems like a small thing to be so pleased about, doesn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

