Photo Saturday – and not just knitting pictures!

This has been a good week, again.  I have had a few bad days (today is definitely one), but I have been waking up early even when I don’t have to, and actually getting stuff done.  This is a massive improvement and in turn makes me feel even better.  Until I overdo it and make the pain worse 😉

I went to the team meeting as planned on Tuesday, in Bristol.  I met with my friend T for coffee beforehand and had a lovely catch-up.  I went out for lunch with Caron on Wednesday, and gave her Maya’s birthday present.  I haven’t heard anything since then – I hope she likes it. 

The I took some time off – half a day Weds and all of Thurs and Friday.  A had an extra afternoon off on Weds, and all day Thursday too, so we made the most of the weather and went out walking.  On Thursday we made it over to Coate Water, on the other side of town.  Because it involves driving (still not easy) or combinations of buses, we haven’t been in ages, so it was lovely to get there and have plenty of time to enjoy it. 

Then yesterday, well, I don’t know what got into me.  I got up earlier than I would to go to work, for a start.  Then I did some gardening!  I have never before felt any kind of urge to garden.  At least, not strong enough to get out there and do it.  Although, I say gardening…all I really did was put some seeds in pots.  It’s probably even too late for them, but I enjoyed it anyway. 

I planted herbs, parsley, basil and chives, in a window box:

Then I found some wild flower seeds on a shelf, and pottered around our tiny little garden finding pots to plant them in:

Please bear in mind that our garden is intentionally untidy.  I like it that way, and so does A.  We would one day like to attract some kind of wildlife other than a hundred spiders and the gazillion worms who live in the compost bin.  Oh, and all the neighbourhood cats.  In fact, to that end, we have recently added a bird feeder:

There isn’t much evidence of anything eating it yet, but hopefully something will find it soon.  I’m no bird snob, anything will make me happy, just a starling visiting my garden for a meal would be lovely.  I realised just how many birds fly over our entire neighbourhood yesterday while I was messing with compost and seeds.  It’s a bit depressing, but hopefully if we fill the garden with green and flowers, not to mention food, we’ll attract something. 

After my weird gardening hour or so, I started baking instead.  I made some lovely ginger biscuits, which are nearly all gone already.  I also got carried away with plans for dinner.  We had taken chicken wings out of the freezer, to use them up.  Neither of us are particularly keen on wings, but we got them in the meatbox delivery so had to eat them.  I started looking for a recipe for chicken wings, and stumbled across a spicy baby potato dish we used to make loads.  I decided that would be a nice accompaniment.  Then I found a dish that consisted of runner beans in soured cream.  Now I love soured cream, and the veg box this week included some really tender, young runner beans – perfect for this.  Finally I settled on a spicy coating for the chicken.  It all turned out lovely…only the chillis in the potato dressing were much hotter than I expected, so after a bite or two, everything tasted mainly of chilli!  Still, it was nice and we cleared our plates. 

Anyway, on to knitting news…I’ve been working away on my stripey cardigan:

It’s coming along nicely…except I got so absorbed in the new episode of NCIS last night, I forgot to change colour, so I’ll have to undo the last 4 rows and re-do them in blue! 

I re-started the entrelac scarf I was working on in the middle of the week, just cos I decided it might look better with bigger squares.  Not only does it look better, it is going along so much quicker:

Finally, I have to re-do the spots on the knitted dog I made for Ali at work.  She has lent me some photos of Ziggy so I can get the patches right.  I might make a second one for her daughter too, if I can find the enthusiasm. 

That’s it for this week.  In the week coming I haven’t got much on.  I will be hassling the hospital for a surgery date again.  I’ll try to make it to knitting on Weds.  And that’s it, I think.

Leave a Reply

