Photo Saturday, as promised

So, here we are, Saturday again.  I’m sat in my library (how grand), uploading photos to flickr, listening to the endless, repetitive chatter of Billy the cockatiel, and thinking about what I wanted to say today.  I had it virtually drafted in my head as I was falling asleep last night, but was too lazy to get up and write stuff down.  As a consequence, I’m just gonna let the pictures lead.

First off, A’s cardi/jacket:

That’s it, just blocked (nearly successfully).  And on the recipient:

He was insistent that I explain the jacket is deliberately skinny-fit, that’s how he wanted it.  In fact, when I started on the smallest size in the printed pattern and he tried it on, he didn’t like it as it was too big.  That meant I had to invent a whole new size, which wasn’t actually as hard as I thought.  I cast on 130 stitches, instead of the 146 of the smallest pattern size, then pretty much guessed from there.  The bits I was worried about were the saddle shoulder bit and the decreases after joining body and arms, but both worked out fine.  As stated earlier in the week, the place where I had most difficulty was getting the pockets even.  They still aren’t a perfect match, but if A is happy with them, they’ll do. 

The other comment I would like to make is that I deliberately cut off his head in the photos, as he didn’t want the fame.  It isn’t just my poor photography skills. 

On to the next, this is the baby picture I’ve cross-stitched for A’s cousin’s baby, which is due soon:

It’s a lovely pattern, and I’m pleased how it turned out (so far)…just don’t look too closely at the details.  If you do, you might notice two flying cats.  And a rabbit wearing a nappy.  And a load of other weirdnesses.  As soon as baby is born and we know name and date of birth, I’ll stitch them into the gap in the centre and frame it for Auntie Vera to give to the new parents. 

Following on from this, I’ve also started a cross-stitch picture for another cousin’s little girl.  I didn’t make one when she was born, as no-one asked and I was totally absorbed by the knitting, but I did make one for her older sister and realised that now I’ve made 2 for one Auntie and only one for the other.  The theme for this one is daisies, as the little one’s name is daisy.  Pictures when it’s more than a splodge. 

Finally, while on holiday we wandered vaguely around Paignton one afternoon, and stumbled across a small craft shop.  It had some of everything, including the buttons on A’s jacket and a stash of yarn.  There I found a few balls of sock yarn, which I still can’t help buying even though I’m not currently sock-obsessed:

That’s Wendy Happy in a pretty pink/purple colourway.

Leave a Reply

