Saturday again? Really?

This week seems to have flown by.  I suppose that’s because I’ve been so busy, with trips to Bridgwater and Bristol, as well as the Swindon office (which had no heating and was freezing cold).  I’ve attended an all-day briefing and a performance review.  And worked at home for two days, which was such a relief. 

I didn’t make it to Knitting in the Library, as predicted, as Weds was my day in Bristol this week.  I have managed to get some knitting done though.  The no-yellow buttercup top I’ve been working on is almost done, just half a ball of wool left, which I intend to completely use up if I can judge it right. 

All the travelling this week has given me loads of time for my Happy socks, which I’ve finished:

I love the fact that they don’t quite match, although it seems to bug A a bit.  I wore them yesterday and they are really comfy and warm.  To fill the travel-knit gap I have already cast on a new sock, using some Violet Green Solemate, in a lovely rich green colour.  This time, instead of two at a time on one circular needle using Magic Loop, I’m going for one at a time on my pretty KnitPro DPNs.  Photos to follow, when there’s something to see. 

Aside from knitting, but on a related subject, I’ve been shopping again.  This time it’s all from Violet Green

That is the most beautiful laceweight ever – soft and glossy and there seems to be so much of it!  I don’t know what I’ll do with it, maybe invent a lightweight summer cardi, if I have the patience for that much tiny stitching.  Maybe it’ll become another shawl or stole.  For now, I’ll just look at it, stroke it a bit and imagine what it could become. 

I also ordered another 4 skeins of Cascade 220, which brings my total to 8.  I think I finally have a plan for it, too.  I’m going to make a log cabin lap blanket.  That’s a long-term project I think, to be picked away at alongside other stuff. 

Next though, once my top is done, I’m going to start my Mum’s shawl.  I’ve got the pattern and yarn together…just need to wind the yarn into a ball.  That should only take a few days!

Leave a Reply

