Where are the weeks going?

Seriously, every time I stop to think about it, it seems to be Friday night or Saturday morning again.  Not that I’m complaining really, the faster the work bits go the better!  Only, I’m losing evenings as well. 

Anyway, this week has been another busy one.  I’ve been to Bristol twice, and actually started exploring the city a bit at lunchtimes.  I don’t know my way around Bristol at all, just a few carefully memorised routes to get me from A to B without getting lost.  I am good at getting lost!  On one occasion, A and I got lost in Bath – couldn’t find the train station!  We’ve both been to Bath plenty of times before, especially by train, and yet still ended up wandering vaguely for an hour. 

So, Bristol – I’ve been out a few times with my colleagues, usually with a particular shop or purchase in mind, but now I’m exploring a bit more on my own.  It’s interesting, and maybe one day we can go shopping there and actually find what we want 😉

Apart from work, what else have I done?  Oh yes, I got my hair cut last weekend.  I went for the ‘much shorter’ option, it’s supposed to be a bob.  But I’m already bored of blow-drying it and trying to force it to curl under.  Never mind, it’s still much easier to cope with than when it was long. 

I missed Knitting at the Library again this week, as I had promised to meet up with my friend C.  I really didn’t want to let her down, as C needs all the support she can get at the moment.  C is expecting her 3rd baby, but both she and her husband carry a genetic disorder called Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA).  Their first beautiful baby girl was born with type 1 SMA, the severest type.  She miraculously survived until she was 2, but ended up barely able to move even her face.  Just her expressive little eyes, and a trace of smile.  Bethan was amazing, and C and her husband devoted themselves to her.  Life got more complicated when their second baby came along and they had two to care for, but thankfully Maya is healthy, doesn’t even carry the faulty gene. 

Now C is expecting again, but won’t find out until the end of the month whether the baby is healthy.  By that time she’ll be 18-20 weeks through.  It’s terrifying, I don’t know how she can be so strong, but C has so much courage and is refusing to consider the negative possibilities until she knows more. 

So I didn’t mind missing Knitting for one more week, when C asked if I’d got time for lunch. 

On the subject of knitting, there is progress on 2 of my 3 WiP’s.  Mum’s Icarus shawl is coming along.  I’ve finished the main chart, and now have to start on the 3 smaller charts.  Only my stitch count is out by 4.  I can’t see anything wrong – I’ve been using stitch-markers to pick out the repeats so it’s obvious when I’ve made a mistake.  I’m going to look for errata before I do anything else I think.  Anyway, here’s the latest picture:

I’ve also made progress on my travel socks, what with all the Bristol travel.  The first one is finished:

I haven’t done a single stitch on my log cabin blanket this week, just haven’t felt like it.  Never mind, it’ll wait!

One Response to “Where are the weeks going?”

  1. Catherine Says:

    That’s absolutely heart-breaking, I hope things turn out well (paws firmly crossed)

Leave a comment