Unplanned Babble

This has been a busy week, lots going on work-wise, including the usual treks to Bristol and back and a clear-out day in the Swindon office (which is closing very soon). 

On Monday we collected our Bunny-Raddit’s ashes from the vet, and buried him under the cherry tree in our garden.  It was sad, but not unbearably so, and instead of the harsh sobbing of the days before there were just a few quiet tears.  It felt like saying goodbye, and starting to move on. 

Knitting has been happening, at a slightly slower pace than usual.  Mum’s shawl is finally getting there – just 8 rows of the last chart to complete, then the border and cast-off.  I haven’t taken any new pictures as it just looks like a bundle of (very pretty, soft, delicate) fabric.  Hopefully it will block well! 

I’ve made some progress on the travel socks this week, turned the heel of sock 2 and started the gusset decreases.  That should be done in the next week or two. 

Last night I even picked the lap blanket back up, for the first time in a few weeks.  I didn’t really feel like it, but I was too tired for the complications of the shawl.  Sadly, the blanket was at a stage where I needed to wind a new skein of yarn, and that took me the rest of the evening so I didn’t actually knit any blanket. 

On my visit to the Swindon office yesterday, I took some sketches and pattern ideas for a new cross-stitch picture for my friend Avril’s new grand-daughter in Australia.  Avril’s daughter requested ‘cupcakes and butterflies and fairies and things like that’, so I trawled through my shelf of magazines and found a few examples of each item.  Then I drew up a rough layout, which I took to show Avril.  She really liked it, suggesting pastel colours look good and requesting blonde hair for the fairy.  Avril is visiting Australia in early May, so I need to get this done by then if possible. 

Before that, I’ve got to finish my Mum’s shawl for Mother’s Day (2 weeks away) and knit a shawl for A’s Mum for her birthday in early April.  Luckily the yarn I picked out for A’s Mum’s shawl is sock-weight, not lace-weight, so should knit up fairly fast. 

What else…?  Oh yes, spring is here!  The birds have started singing their spring songs, they are evident everywhere I go.  I even say a blackbird and heard a great tit in the middle of Bristol last week!  And a single lonely male blackbird has taken up residence in our garden, which is so exciting.  We’ve seen him around before (I’m assuming it’s the same one), but never for long, but since the snow in January we’ve been throwing the odd handful of dried mealworm on the floor by the birdfeeder.  Mr B has taken to sitting in the cherry tree, watching for us and waiting for us to come out with food…he no longer flies away even a short distance.  Then last night, so exciting, we heard him singing.  Looked out of the window and he was sat on our washing-line post, singing his little socks off.  Calling out that our garden is his territory!  Sounds like a small thing to get so excited about, but that means we now have regular visits from 2 wrens, a number of pigeons and a blackbird, having never seen anything except cats before last year. 

Anyway, I’d better get to work – got some hours to make up, even though it is Saturday. 

This week coming I’ll be in Birmingham once, Bristol once and not a lot else that I know of at this point.  Let’s hope for a quiet one!

Leave a Reply

