Finish!

Finishing a shawl still seems like such a big achievement, so I got quite excited about this one for my Mum, for Mother’s Day:

It has taken about 6 weeks, and is truly beautiful.  I can’t wait to give it to Mum, she’ll love it.  I have to keep biting my tongue to stop myself telling her about it in the phone! 

Having finished one shawl, I immediately cast on another, this one for A’s Mum – for her birthday in April.

It’s not as delicate as my Mum’s, but it is intended to be more practical.  I can’t imagine my Mum ever wearing a shawl, but I can picture Mar wrapping this round her shoulders on a cold evening. 

So, knitting aside, this week has been a quiet one.  Apart from the bad space in my head that is.  There it has been a hard, hectic week, but I’m starting to feel better again.

2 Responses to “Finish!”

  1. Jennie Says:

    I love your mother’s shawl – what pattern did you use?

  2. uncoolhelen Says:

    Thanks Jennie. I forgot to say, the pattern is Icarus by Miriam L Felton. It’s available from Ravelry (http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/icarus-shawl) or in the ‘Best of Interweave Knits’ book.
    Mum bought me the book for my birthday, and immediately pointed out the shawl as something she’d like!

Leave a Reply

