So much excitement!

It has been a busy week-and-a-half.  And yes, I realise that this isn’t Saturday and I missed a post, hence this catch-up on a Tuesday. 

Last week, I decided that I’d had enough of sitting around recuperating and that it was time to start getting out and doing stuff (other than knitting).  I made good progress, and although I found myself very tired most days after my adventures, I didn’t have big problems with pain or set myself back as I had before. 

My adventures included:

  • cooking
  • washing up
  • Knitting at the Library (travelling by bus)
  • an outing to Tesco (walking there, bus back)
  • town and Old Town by bus
  • a trip to Lambourn to put flowers on my grandparents’ memorial stones, by car, with my sister-in-law

Also, and much bigger and even more exciting, A and I went on holiday!  We caught a train down to South Devon on Friday morning, returning yesterday.  We stayed in Dawlish Warren, in a brand new, very nice lodge.  On Saturday we went to Exeter for the day (my birthday), spending an hour or two and a lot of money at a knitting expo there.  I bought lots of yarn!

Well, it was my birthday present 🙂

After the knit expo we went looking for somewhere to eat.  Knowing that there wasn’t much open in Dawlish Warren, we had planned to find something good at lunchtime, and take back a bag of bread/ham/cheese/olives etc for tea.  I wanted to eat somewhere a bit different, but hadn’t quite thought we’d find Michael Caines’ restaurant!  Michael Caines is a chef who sometimes appears on programmes like Market Kitchen, he has a really good reputation, so when we stumbled across his restaurant we had to eat there.  And it was delicious, such good food.  I’d recommend it to anyone – and the price was reasonable too. 

Sadly, by the time we’d eaten I was exhausted and so we headed back to sleep for an hour or two. 

The rest of the weekend was good.  I managed to keep up with walking and shopping and eating out and everything A wanted to do, just about.  Then the train journey home was smooth and here we are!  Last night I got my car back from my brother, so this afternoon I think we’re going out for a drive (probably just to get some shopping).  It’s a bit scary, driving after nearly 5 weeks off, but I’m sure I’ll be fine.  It’ll be good to get around more easily. 

In knitting news, Gethin’s shawl is coming along nicely.  The original 192 st per side is now down to 106 st per side.  It is really speeding up…although I didn’t take it away at the weekend so it had a short break. 

I have two finishes to show off, starting with my bedsocks:

I put them on to take the photo earlier, and am still wearing them!  These are going to be a favourite.  Last time I wrote, they were in time-out because somehow I’d ended up with too many stitches on the second sock…well I worked out why and had to rip back to before the heel.  Somehow I got confused when I started the heel and used a top-down heel flap construction on a toe-up sock which should have had a short-row heel turn instead.  D’oh! 

Also finished is the Pimpelliese scarf, which A has renamed the Dragon:

 

I haven’t decided whether to keep this or give it away, maybe for christmas.  We’ll see. 

Since my last post I’ve also been working on the Sagrantino shawl, which I have kind of re-designed.  I love the design as it is, but realised I would run out of yarn if I carried on.  So, instead of 3 hexagons wide, I’ve made it 2.  And instead of starting at one end, I’ve started in the centre and am working outwards on both sides:

I’ve also started a new pair of socks:

So much going on! 

I’m sure I’ve forgotten some of the stuff I meant to write about, but I’ve just heard that my baby bro slipped on ice on his way out to work this morning, and has broken his leg in two places and dislocated his ankle!  He was carrying the baby at the time, but luckily Gethin wasn’t hurt.  Now everything else has gone from my head…better see if I can do anything to help.

Leave a Reply

