Scarf! Shawl! Kindle! Busy!

As I predicted a week ago, it has been another busy week.  Something has been going on every day, mostly involving going out. 

Saturday – took Madi shopping for her 8th birthday present.  It wasn’t as fun as it should have been as she has learned the value of money since her 7th birthday!  So we did the rounds of the same 4 shops…several times…while Mads weighed up how to get the most for her budget.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s an important life skill and one she’ll potentially get a lot of use from, but 8 year olds have a lot more energy than I do at the moment.  And even more than A, who had just finished a 7 hour shift that started at 6am!  Anyway, at the end of the afternoon, Madi had several bags of fashionable clothes and a couple of books, all of which she was really happy with.  Mads enjoyed the outing, which was the point of it. 

Sunday – nothing much happened.  We had a lazy day and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Monday – took Mum for a blood test. 

Tuesday – Caron came to visit, with baby Isla.  It was lovely to catch up, but I made the mistake of tidying up and vacuuming before they arrived.  It turns out that vacuuming is not one of the things I can do at this stage, without 2 days of pain afterwards.

Wednesday – Knitting at the Library.  It was good to get out and see people, and this outing wasn’t hard work at all 🙂

Thursday – my car went in for its MOT and a service.  It went fairly well, passing the MOT easily.  BUT both rear tyres were perished, and new ones were strongly recommended.  I thought for a few seconds and realised that I would not be comfortable driving it with dodgy tyres, especially in winter, so I got them changed…doubling the cost of the whole adventure! 

Friday – my 6 week follow-up appointment with the consultant doctor-man.  It wasn’t great, as he had some not-so-good test results to tell me, but I won’t have to see him again for 6 months so it wasn’t too bad.  He did sign me off for another two weeks and recommended a phased return to work for several weeks after that. 

Today/tomorrow – we’re looking after Gethin overnight so that poor Sam can get a few hours off.  She has been running around looking after my broken-legged brother for over a week now, and has to take care of the baby alone as well.  David can’t even lift or carry Gethin without hurting his leg so Sam has to do everything.  Tonight she should get an unbroken night’s sleep, and even a lay-in tomorrow morning.  And we get to play with the baby 🙂

In other news, I bought myself a Kindle!  It’s really slim and lightweight and I’m impressed at how comfortable it is to read.  Ironically, for the first time in a year, I have 6 new books to read, all sitting on the shelf, but I’m desperately trying to rationalise spending money on e-books. 

This week’s knitting news is exciting…two big finishes! 

Firstly, I finished the Sagrantina scarf, blocked it and love it:

 

I’m not sure whether I’m giving it away or keeping it myself…we’ll see.

Second…drum roll please…Gethin’s Christening Shawl is done!  Blocked!  Beautiful! 

 

It’s really hard to do it justice with a point-and-click camera and absolutely no photography skills.  But it looks good and I’m proud of it.  I know there are at least 3 small mistakes in it, but even I can’t find them now it is done. 

In other knitting news, I’m plodding away at the Dawlish Warren socks, and have made some progress on the two-colour hat I cast on before my op.  Plus I found a pattern for a Kindle cover, which I think I’m going to need! 

This coming week…another busy one, at least until Thursday.  We’ve got a check-up at the dentist, a doctor’s appointment for A and a visit to Bristol to discuss my phased return and find out about the latest developments.  I’ll almost be glad to get back to work, just so I’ll have a more stable routine!

Leave a Reply

