Ugghh – who ordered a cold?

I guess we should consider it a lesson…look after the germ-factory toddler who has just started nursery and end up both suffering a heavy cold. 

I shouldn’t complain really, it wasn’t Gethin’s fault.  The poor little monkey was suffering terribly with teething, and it turned out that he also had a bad cold and conjunctivitis as well!  Last Sat night was not a fun one, what with his terrible nappies, severely painful nappy rash, snotty nose, gunky eyes and general grottiness.  There wasn’t much sleep, just a clingy baby who wanted cuddles and fuss and even went off his food.  Of course, this is my boy Gethin, so we still got the odd smile now and then 🙂 

Thankfully, he’s feeling much better already, and we only have the cold element to contend with so we’ll live. 

Apart from the boy at the weekend, it has been a mildly eventful week.  I was sincerely glad I had booked Monday off as leave, as I really needed to catch up on sleep.  I’m not good when I’m short of sleep…another reason I’m glad we have no children of our own! 

Also this week, Alan and Kat’s baby girl arrived 🙂  Her name is Poppy, born early Weds morning, 8lb.  I’ve already got some knitted bits and some really sweet pink baby Converse ready, we’re just waiting for the call to go and visit.  Hopefully not until we’ve shaken off the bug. 

In knitting news…I gave up on the socks I was making.  I could not make them work.  I think the issue was that where I was making them toe-up and including a reinforced heel, they didn’t have enough stretch across the ankle.  The reinforced heel isn’t as elastic as a plain knit heel.  I’m not sure how to fix this.  I really want to knit these toe-up to use all the yarn, as I was using the yarn-sushi I bought for xmas and it would be a pity to waste any of the pretty colours. 

For now though, I’ve given up on those and started a pair of bedsocks, two at a time and toe-up.  I’m playing a bit with ribbing to see if that gives them enough stretch. 

Last Saturday I finished my rosebud shawl, just before Gethin arrived.  I didn’t get around to blocking it until yesterday though:

I always remember too late that pale shawls don’t show up too well against this pale blue sheet!  I don’t have a particular use or recipient in mind for this small shawl, I just liked the pattern and wanted to try it. 

While we had the boy last weekend I realised we don’t have a small blanket here, and David and Sam don’t always remember to leave one with us.  It would have been particularly useful last weekend, to wrap up the boy when he felt bad, to cover him in his cot (he has a sleeping bag but the extra layer would have been good) and to tuck around him in his pushchair.  So on Sunday we wandered into a charity shop in town and managed to get a big ball of stuff for just £5.49. 

I’ve started another ten-stitch blanket with it, this time a zigzag version:

That’s not the best photo, but alongside that strip is another row of zigzags, the another…until it’s blanket sized.  It doesn’t want to be very big, as it’ll drag under the pushchair wheels and be a pain to carry around.  It’s not quite as white as it looks with the flash on it…more cream, with flecks of other colours in it. 

Anyway, this week coming…work as usual…not much else that I can think of.  Which is good, right?

One Response to “Ugghh – who ordered a cold?”

  1. angela Says:

    Wow, beautiful shawl! Sorry you’ve got a cold.

    You are a great knitter–mostly I’ve not done afghans, but getting more tempted now–maybe to be done while hubs drives….

Leave a Reply

