Low

It has been a challenging week, all up-and-down and now I’m exhausted.

A couple of times I’ve overdone it, or tried something I shouldn’t have.  A couple of times I’ve eaten the wrong thing and kicked off an IBS reaction.  I haven’t slept well, but when I have slept it has been much more comfortable than previously…in my bed all night, even turning and sleeping on my side without pain.  

There has been bad news (the dog next door had to be put to sleep unexpectedly, and a former colleague of A’s passed away).  I probably can’t go straight back to work when I want as I have to wait for HR to agree, which they won’t even start until the point that I wanted to be back at my desk. 

I had hoped to be driving again by today, and I wanted to have started the long slow buildup to running regularly again.  But I just haven’t felt up to it.  

However, I’m not going to wallow in self pity, tempting as at is, so here are some reasons to be cheerful:

  1. I am still recovering, and have to allow myself time.  Setbacks are normal and I know this.  I will feel better if I think positive.
  2. I still have the best husband ever, never grumbling when I wake him in the night because I’m so clumsy I trip over my own feet when I get up.
  3. I can drive when I’m ready, the car is sat waiting for me, and I’ll have a whole lot if freedom when I get to that point.
  4. I can get out and about on foot by myself pretty well now, at least to town and back when we need shopping.
  5. I have some lovely friends, people who have gone out if their way to stay in touch, to visit, to bring/send me gifts and flowers and cards.
  6. We have a cleaner who comes in every week so I don’t even have to think about housework – a luxury that I’m still marvelling at.
  7. I have chocolate.
Leave a Reply

